City Guide to Edinburgh, Scotland

City Guide to Edinburgh, Scotland

City Centre Ward By-election: 18 August 2011

By edg - Posted on 04 August 2011

Event details

This Edinburgh City Council by-election in the City Centre Ward was created by the resignation of Cllr David Beckett who is leaving the country to study at Harvard University.

The six candidates for the vacant seat in the City Centre ward are:

  • John Carson - Independent
  • Karen Doran - Scottish Labour Party
  • Alistair Hodgson - Scottish Liberal Democrats
  • Melanie Main - Scottish Green Party
  • Iain McGill - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
  • Alasdair Rankin - Scottish National Party (SNP)

Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm. Due to the date of the by-election, some polling places have changed as many buildings are booked as Fringe venues. Others have been relocated from schools to avoid disruption in the first week of term. Voters should check their polling cards to find out where to vote.

The election will use the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system where voters can rank candidates in order of preference rather than using a single cross. Voters can give a rank to as many or as few candidates as they like. The results of the by-election will be announced on Friday 19 August.

Polling Places

  • Lauriston Halls, Sacred Heart Church, 28 Lauriston Street
  • Lothian Chambers, 59-63 George IV Bridge (relocated from Augustine United Church)
  • Waverley Court, Council headquarters, 4 East Market Street (relocated from Royal Mile Primary school and Panmure St Anne's)
  • London Road Church Hall, 1A Easter Road (relocated from Abbeyhill Primary school)
  • Walpole Hall, St Mary's Cathedral, Chester Street
  • St Stephen's Centre, 105 St Stephen Street
  • St Paul's and St George's Church, 10 Broughton Street (relocated from St Mary's RC Primary school)
  • The Apex Hotel, 90 Haymarket Terrace