Chopin After Lunch Review

Rating (out of 5)
Show info
After Lunch Music for Piano and Ensemble
Chopin, Two Polonaises; Chopin, Impromptu in F; Chopin, Scherzo No 2 in B flat minor; Tchaikovsky, String Quartet No 1 in D.
Ben Schoeman (piano), Brodowski Quartet: David Brodowski (violin), Catrin Win Morgan (violin), Felix Tanner (violin) and Vanessa Lucas-Smith (cello).
Running time

Three rousing and well known Chopin piano pieces were played yesterday afternoon with great gusto and expertise by the South African prize winning pianist, Ben Schoeman, in the first half of the concert.

The Brodowski Quartet which was formed in 2005 then played Tchaikovsky’s String Quartet No 1 in D. This is fast moving music, and they were enjoying every moment of it. The second of the four movements is the very familiar Andante cantibile, probably  Tchaikovsky’s best known music.

Based in London, the Ensemble were the winners of the Royal Overseas League’s Competition in 2008 in the Ensemble section.

Tea and shortbread was served afterwards to a very contented audience. Another full house for the popular Fringe venue.

Show times
23, 25 Aug, 2pm

Ticket Prices
£12 (£10)