City Guide to Edinburgh, Scotland

City Guide to Edinburgh, Scotland

2015 Critics' Awards for Theatre in Scotland (CATS) guest presenters announced.

By Irene Brown - Posted on 05 June 2015

Karen Dunbar.png

Leading comedian and actor Karen Dunbar will be joined by artistic director of the Tron Theatre and founder of Glasgow’s Arches Andy Arnold, as this year’s presenter.

CATS co-convenor Joyce McMillan says, “We are delighted that Karen and Andy are to present this year’s awards. Karen is a real star of both stage and television, well loved by audiences for her appearances in Chewin' the Fat, and for unforgettable comic performances as a far-from-conventional Fairy Godmother in the Glasgow King's panto. The range of her work is amazing – she played a key role alongside the dancing Tunnock's Tea Cakes in last year's Commonwealth Games opening ceremony, and has recently taken on one of the most challenging of all theatre roles, Winnie in Samuel Beckett's Happy Days, at the Tron, where we will hold this year’s CATS ceremony.
“Andy Arnold, who directed Karen's acclaimed performance in that show, has been one of the most important figures in Scottish theatre for more than 30 years, particularly through his trailblazing work at the Arches – whose future is sadly currently under threat – and now through the terrific programme of work he produces and hosts at the Tron, one of the true hubs of Scottish theatre. We are delighted to bring the CATS Awards ceremony back to the Tron for a second time, not least because Andy and his team are such wonderful, supportive hosts to us, as they are to so many Scottish theatre companies and artists.

Edinburgh’s Royal Lyceum Theatre dominates this year’s CATS shortlists garnering no fewer than 17 nominations for six different productions, and s recognised in eight of the ten CATS categories.

The 2015 CATS Award ceremony will take place in Glasgow’s Tron Theatre on the afternoon of Sunday 14 June. Tickets, priced £15 available in person, by telephone on 0141 552 4267 and online via
For further information the Critics’ Awards for Theatre in Scotland visit: