City Guide to Edinburgh, Scotland

City Guide to Edinburgh, Scotland

Anderszewski plays Mozart, Queen's Hall, Review

By Barbara Bryan - Posted on 22 February 2013

Piotr Anderszewski
Show Details
Queen's Hall
Scottish Chamber Orchestra
Alexander Janiczek (Conductor), Piotr Anderszweski (Conductor)
Alexander Janiczek (violin), Piotr Anderszweski (piano), members of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra
Running time: 

Alexander Janiczek was the guest conductor at this Scottish Chamber Orchestra concert. An Associate Artist of the SCO he is also an excellent violinist and most unusually combines conducting with performing – something I have never seen before.

The first piece on the programme featured Janiczek in his role as joint conductor and performer and was Schubert’s Overture in D Major. He wrote two overtures ‘In the Italian Style’ in the same year – both inspired by the music of Rossini. Scored for woodwind, horns, timpani and strings – it is the woodwind section that features prominently in a composition that combines frivolity with a rousing finale.

Another unusual feature of the programme was the performance of two piano concertos. Piotr Anderszewski was the soloist in Mozart’s Piano concertos number 23 in A major, and number 25 in C major. An extremely accomplished pianist – technically brilliant – he also conducted and performed.

Mozart was composing prolifically during this period and these two concertos are some of the most popular in his repertoire. It is difficult for a pianist to play a simple theme expressively but in the middle movement, the Adagio, of concerto number 23, Anderszewski played it to perfection.

Beethoven’s Grosse Fuge for strings is a little known composition. Conducted and performed by Janiczek, with its juxtaposition of turbulence and calm, it is a challenging piece for the players to perform but the strings sounded superb – particularly in the delicate passages.

The last composition on the programme was the concerto number 25 in C major. What a coup for Anderszewski to play two concertos in the same performance. And what a sterling performance it was for both the soloist and the players, particularly taking the allegretto at a terrific pace.

The reception from the packed audience was deafening. He returned to the platform on four occasions, finally succumbing to an encore – a serenade from J S Bach’s English Suite. It was an inspiring concert.

Friday 22nd February – Glasgow City Halls, 7.30pm £13/£27 (concessions available)

Saturday 23rd February – Aberdeen Music Hall, 7.30pm £10/£21 (concessions available)