City Guide to Edinburgh, Scotland

City Guide to Edinburgh, Scotland

Voter Turnout Doubles At Scottish Youth Elections

By edg - Posted on 04 April 2011

Scottish Youth Parliament at Holyrood

Government austerity measures, the threats posed by climate change, and the uncertainities brought on by rapid globalisation, have galvanised the youth of today into becoming increasingly politically active.

That picture of a more politically active youth was painted again in the recent elections to the Scottish Youth Parliament which saw a doubling of votes cast in Edinburgh from the last elections held in 2009.

More than 10,000 votes were cast in Edinburgh during the election period from 14th to 25th March with 26 young people from all areas of the city standing for election.

The twelve new local MSYPs were announced at the City Chambers earlier today, and will now officially take up their role at June's Annual General Meeting.

The Scottish Youth Parliament is a non-party organisation made up of 150 young people aged 14-25 and represents every constituency in Scotland. It aims to give Scotland's young people a higher profile on the national and international stage and sits three times each year at different locations in Scotland, including in the main chamber of the Scottish Parliament at Holyrood.

The new representatives were voted in on a range of manifesto promises including scrapping plans for student fees, lowering the voting age to 16, and tackling youth unemployment.

City Education Leader Cllr Marilyne MacLaren congratulated all the campaigners for taking part. 

"There was huge excitement and enthusiasm surrounding these elections and that has been mirrored with a fantastic turn out of young voters," she said. "I look forward to hearing from the new MSYPs and the work they will carry out on behalf of the young people of Edinburgh and Scotland."

The Edinburgh election was organised by the City of Edinburgh Council's Children and Families and Communications Service.

The winning Edinburgh candidates:


  • Chris Glendinning (George Heriot’s School)
  • Charlie Brinkhurst Cuff (Broughton HS)


  • Billy Foreman (Holy Rood HS)
  • Ryan Ross (Portobello HS)

Northern & Leith

  • Kelley Temple (University of Strathclyde)
  • Terri Miller (Telford College)


  • Rhiannon Lee (Currie Community HS)
  • Sara Ansari (Firrhill HS)


  • Eilidh Still (James Gillespie’s HS)
  • Malcolm Boyd (James Gillespie’s HS)


  • John Bendo (St Augustine's H)S
  • Jahura Hussain (Royal High School)