Online Voting First For Community Council Elections

Submitted by edg on Wed, 16 Oct '13 5.58pm

It has yet to catch on in national elections, but for the first time, local people taking part in this year's Edinburgh Community Council elections can cast a vote from the comfort of their armchair at home.

Voting begain over a secure website on 9th October for Craigmillar, Liberton & District and Portobello Community Councils. The voting period continues until 8pm on 24 October. Nominations are also currently being sought for new members of the Gilmerton/Inch Community Council.

All voters on the electoral roll in the three areas can vote over the internet, or the traditional way in person at a polling place on the 24 October, or via postal vote.

"We hope that by offering flexible ways to vote that it will attract even more interest in these elections," says Councillor Maureen Child, Convener of the Communities and Neighbourhood Committee.

The first councils were established in Edinburgh in 1980 in Merchiston and Longstone, and more than 500 people are now members across the city.

They each receive a grant to cover running costs and training is available for the members. They are represented on each of the city's 12 Neighbourhood Partnerships and work alongside elected members, representatives from NHS Lothian, Police Scotland, the voluntary sector and Scottish Fire and Rescue Service.

"Community Councils are an ideal way to support communities to thrive, to allow people from all backgrounds to meet and share ideas and to make change happen," says Cllr Child.

"They are a fantastic way of making public sector agencies aware of the needs of local areas, and can really help to make changes for the better."

Edinburgh's Community Councils

  1. Balerno Community Council 
  2. Corstorphine Community Council
  3. Craigentinny/Meadowbank Community Council
  4. Craigleith/Blackhall Community Council
  5. Craiglockhart Community Council
  6. Craigmillar Community Council
  7. Cramond & Barnton Community Council
  8. Currie Community Council 
  9. Drumbrae Community Council
  10. Drylaw/Telford Community Council
  11. Fairmilehead Community Council
  12. Firrhill Community Council 
  13. Gorgie/Dalry Community Council
  14. Grange/Prestonfield Community Council
  15. Granton & District Community Council 
  16. Hutchison/Chesser Community Council
  17. Juniper Green Community Council
  18. Kirkliston Community Council
  19. Leith Central Community Council 
  20. Leith Harbour and Newhaven Community Council
  21. Leith Links Community Council 
  22. Liberton and District Community Council 
  23. Longstone Community Council 
  24. Marchmont/Sciennes Community Council  
  25. Merchiston Community Council 
  26. Morningside Community Council
  27. Muirhouse/Salvesen Community Council 
  28. Murrayfield Community Council 
  29. New Town and Broughton Community Council
  30. Old Town Community Council
  31. Portobello Community Council 
  32. Queensferry & District Community Council
  33. Ratho & District Community Council
  34. Sighthill/Broomhouse & Parkhead Community Council
  35. Stenhouse, Saughton Mains and Whitson  Community Council
  36. Stockbridge and Inverleith Community Council
  37. Tollcross Community Council
  38. Trinity Community Council
  39. West End Community Council 
  40. West Pilton/West Granton Community Council 
  41. Westerhailes Community Council

* There is no community council for Edinburgh Southside & Northfield/Willowbrae Community Council has been discontinued due to insufficient nominations.